Home // Music // New Track: Mutya Keisha Siobhan – ‘Flatline’

New Track: Mutya Keisha Siobhan – ‘Flatline’

Well, it’s about damn time. Having been holed up in studios with an esteemed – and oh so hot right now – cast of collaborators for what seems like an eternity, those three loveable ladies who once repped the Sugababes moniker, Mutya, Keisha and Siobhan, have at long last returned to us with actual new music.

And, you’ll be glad to hear that their debut single since reforming, the meteoric and mountainous ‘Flatline‘, is anything but the bummer its title would have you believe. The Dev Hynes-produced [I know, him again - Ed.] track certainly feels a lot wiser and a fair deal edgier than the likes of ‘Overload‘, ‘Run For Cover‘ and ‘New Year‘ – well, they do cover Kendrick these days, after all – but it still finds itself imbued with enough moments of pure pop perfection to leave you frothing at the mouth, longing for the days when Smash Hits was still in print. Choral crescendos, gorgeous harmonies, sparkling synths: it’s all here, folks.

So, in short, forget those saccharine lasses calling themselves Sugababes these days, the real trio are back and they’re as tantalising as they ever were.

- Alex Cull

‘Flatline’ is released September 1 on Polydor.

Leave a Reply