Home // Music // Hip Hop // Video Playlist: Behind Jay-Z’s Magna Carta… Holy Grail

Video Playlist: Behind Jay-Z’s Magna Carta… Holy Grail

Haven’t heard Magna Carta… Holy Grail yet? Where have you been?! On his twelfth studio full-length, Jay-Z – who shall henceforth be referred to as Hova – once again brings to the table a lofty, star-studded affair that, if nothing else, perfectly encapsulates the headphone-blasting zeitgeist of our times. With cameos from Justin Timberlake, Beyoncé, Frank Ocean and Rick Ross, alongside references to everything from ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit‘ to Mommie Dearest, it’s a hugely ambitious project, one that you owe yourself a spin of at the very least.

Well, fear not genteel reader, here’s a bitesize run-through of some of Magna Carta for your toe-dipping pleasure, with commentaries from Hova himself, via those tech-savvy folk at Samsung. Listen up, the man’s got something to say. It just might provide you with all the bromides you need to survive the plentiful Yeezus vs. Magna Carta debates being thrown up by the plentiful opinion machine that is the Internet.

‘Holy Grail’



’4 More’

‘One to Many’

- Alex Cull

Magna Carta… Holy Grail is available now via a devoted Samsung app – downloadable here – and iTunes.

Leave a Reply